

GOVERNMENT OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

## **Advisory Neighborhood Commission 2E**

Representing the communities of Burleith, Georgetown, and Hillandale 3265 S Street, NW • Washington, DC 20007 (202) 724-7098 • anc2e@dc.gov

October 10, 2023

Mr. Frederick Hill Chairperson Board of Zoning Adjustment 441 4th Street NW, Suite 200S Washington, DC 20001 bzasubmissions@dc.gov

> RE: Board of Zoning Adjustment Application for Special Exceptions from the Access Requirements and Lot Occupancy Requirements to Construct a Detached, Two-Story Accessory Garage, to an Existing, Attached, Three-Story with Cellar, Principal Dwelling Unit at 3315 N Street NW (BZA #20999)

Dear Chairperson Hill,

On October 2, 2023 ANC 2E held its regularly scheduled public meeting, which was properly noticed and attended by eight commissioners, constituting a quorum. At this meeting the Commission adopted the following resolution by a vote of (8-0-0) with regard to the above-referenced matter:

ANC 2E Commissioner Paul Maysak has communicated with the three adjacent neighbors who do not object to using 69% of the lot. Therefore, ANC 2E does not have objection to the special exception from the lot occupancy requirements.

In reference to the special exception from the access requirements resulting from building to the property line, it should first be noted that ANC 2E dos not take this special exception request lightly. Commissioner Maysak has walked the alley many times and communicated directly with the adjacent neighbors. The subject home is located at the widest section of this public alley at 15 feet and 9 inches wide. The ANC notes that the alley exit at 33rd Street NW decreases to under 10 feet wide, therefore this specific area in question is 50% wider by Commissioner Maysak's measurements. Given this fact and the fact that Commissioner Maysak has spoken to the immediate neighbors who do not express objection to the special exception, ANC 2E does not object to the special exception from the access requirements.

Commissioners Paul Maysak (<u>2E03@anc.dc.gov</u>) and Gwendolyn Lohse (<u>2E06@anc.dc.gov</u>) are the Commission's representatives in this matter.

## COMMISSIONERS:

Kishan Putta, District 1 Topher Mathews, District 2 Paul Maysak, District 3 Joe Massaua, District 4 Mimsy Lindner, District 5 Gwendolyn Lohse, District 6 Daniel Chao, District 7 John DiPierri, District 8 Respectfully submitted,

Juralo Iyr. John

Gwendolyn Lohse Chair, ANC 2E