

GOVERNMENT OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Advisory Neighborhood Commission 2E

Representing the communities of Burleith, Georgetown, and Hillandale 3265 S Street, NW • Washington, DC 20007 (202) 724-7098 • anc2e@dc.gov

October 10, 2023

Ms. Sharon Kershbaum Interim Director District Department of Transportation 250 M Street SE Washington, DC 20003 <u>sharon.kershbaum@dc.gov</u>

RE: Foundry Branch Trolley Trestle Funding

Dear Director Kershbaum,

On October 2, 2023 ANC 2E held its regularly scheduled public meeting, which was properly noticed and attended by eight commissioners, constituting a quorum. At this meeting the Commission adopted the following resolution by a vote of (8-0-0) with regard to the above-referenced matter:

ANC 2E awaits the opportunities that a new fiscal year brings. On October 1, 2023 \$250,000 in funding was unlocked "for planning for future restoration and possible purchase of the Trolley Trestle across the southern end of Glover Archbold Park."

This Foundry Branch Trolley Trestle presents a unique opportunity for preservation and restoration of a historic structure. ANC 2E notes that the District Department of Transportation (DDOT) will be assuming liability for the structure, but believes it is prudent that DDOT be a decision-maker, rather than the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA).

As the only trestle remaining in the district, ANC 2E supports the efforts of the DC Preservation League (DCPL) to encourage DDOT to purchase the historic trestle from WMATA, which is actively seeking to raze this trestle.

Therefore, ANC 2E requests that DDOT appoints a project manager and develops a plan to spend the \$250,000 in funding. The ANC further requests that DDOT provides a status report by November 17th, 2023.

Commissioners Joe Massaua (<u>2E04@anc.dc.gov</u>) and Gwendolyn Lohse (<u>2E06@anc.dc.gov</u>) are the Commission's representatives in this matter.

COMMISSIONERS:

Kishan Putta, District 1 Topher Mathews, District 2 Paul Maysak, District 3 Joe Massaua, District 4 Mimsy Lindner, District 5 Gwendolyn Lohse, District 6 Daniel Chao, District 7 John DiPierri, District 8 Respectfully submitted,

Juralo Iyr. John

Gwendolyn Lohse Chair, ANC 2E