

## GOVERNMENT OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

## **Advisory Neighborhood Commission 2E**

Representing the communities of Burleith, Georgetown, and Hillandale 3265 S Street, NW • Washington, DC 20007 (202) 724-7098 • anc2e@dc.gov

January 24, 2024

Councilmember Brooke Pinto Chair, Committee on the Judiciary and Public Safety Council of the District of Columbia 1350 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Suite 106 Washington, DC 20004 <u>bpinto@dccouncil.gov</u> Ms. Anita Cozart Director Office of Planning 1100 4th Street SW, Suite 650 East Washington, DC 20024 <u>anita.cozart@dc.gov</u>

## RE: Proposed Alley Naming Off of the 1700 Block of 34th Street NW

Dear Councilmember Pinto and Director Cozart,

On January 8, 2024 ANC 2E held its regularly scheduled public meeting, which was properly noticed and attended by eight commissioners, constituting a quorum. At this meeting the Commission adopted the following resolution by a vote of (8-0-0) with regard to the above-referenced matter:

In connection with the construction of a new carriage house on the alley behind the west side of the 1700 block of 34th Street NW, the carriage house owner has been instructed by the Office of Planning (OP) that the alley needs a formal name. With assistance from the Peabody Room of the Georgetown Neighborhood Library, a potential honoree was chosen: James Martin. Martin, a native Washingtonian born in 1870, was a home builder who in 1923 first constructed and offered for sale the homes on R Street NW and 34th Street NW that border the alley. Mr. Martin and his wife Lottie moved into the corner house at 3401 R Street NW and both lived there for the rest of their lives. For this strong connection, the Martin name is a suitable one for the alley. Therefore, ANC 2E supports the proposal to name the alley on the west side of the 1700 block of 34th Street NW as Martin Alley.

Commissioners Topher Mathews (<u>2E02@anc.dc.gov</u>) and Gwendolyn Lohse (<u>2E06@anc.dc.gov</u>) are the Commission's representatives in this matter.

## COMMISSIONERS:

Kishan Putta, District 1 Topher Mathews, District 2 Paul Maysak, District 3 Joe Massaua, District 4 Mimsy Lindner, District 5 Gwendolyn Lohse, District 6 Daniel Chao, District 7 John DiPierri, District 8 Respectfully submitted,

Juralo Iyr. John

Gwendolyn Lohse Chair, ANC 2E