

GOVERNMENT OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

## **Advisory Neighborhood Commission 2E**

Representing the communities of Burleith, Georgetown, and Hillandale 3265 S Street, NW • Washington, DC 20007 (202) 724-7098 • anc2e@dc.gov

February 5, 2024

Ms. Tanya Mitchell Mayor's Special Event Task Group Homeland Security and Emergency Management Agency 2720 Martin Luther King Junior Avenue SE Washington, DC 20032 tanya.mitchell@dc.gov

## **RE:** Special Event Application for the Marine Corps Marathon on Sunday, October 27th, 2024

Dear Ms. Mitchell,

On January 29, 2024 ANC 2E held its regularly scheduled public meeting, which was properly noticed and attended by eight commissioners, constituting a quorum. At this meeting the Commission adopted the following resolution by a vote of (8-0-0) with regard to the above-referenced matter:

There are many events that happen in and around Georgetown and some are well received and well organized. The Marine Corps Marathon is one of those events and ANC 2E is delighted to have them return to Georgetown. The ANC welcomes the race on Sunday, October 27th, 2024. As in years past it is expected that appropriate coordination will be detailed and agreed upon between the Marine Corps Marathon organization, the Metropolitan Police Department (MPD), and the National Park Service (NPS). The race will enter Georgetown from the Key Bridge at approximately mile 4.75, travel down M Street NW to Wisconsin Avenue NW, down to K Street NW, and then exit onto Rock Creek Parkway. Georgetown will see participants between 7:30 am and 10:30 am. It is expected that the streets will reopen by 11:00 am.

ANC 2E expects that no amplified music and announcements will begin more than thirty minutes prior to the first participants and that, while roads are closed, first responders will be given access as needed in the case of emergency.

ANC 2E supports this very popular and spirited event and looks forward to assisting as needed.

## COMMISSIONERS:

Kishan Putta, District 1 Topher Mathews, District 2 Paul Maysak, District 3 Joe Massaua, District 4 Mimsy Lindner, District 5 Gwendolyn Lohse, District 6 Daniel Chao, District 7 John DiPierri, District 8 Commissioners Mimsy Lindner (<u>2E05@anc.dc.gov</u>) and Gwendolyn Lohse (<u>2E06@anc.dc.gov</u>) are the Commission's representatives in this matter.

Respectfully submitted,

Junelo Iyn. Johne

Gwendolyn Lohse Chair, ANC 2E